Lately …

It’s been a while since I posted anything here; I’ve been busy and haven’t had the opportunity to shoot much. However, I’ve got a little something to put up today. Last Sunday, my grandmother passed away. She was 96 years old and very … tired. She wasn’t in any real pain, thankfully, and had indicated that she was ready, so it wasn’t unexpected or even terribly sad. She’ll be missed, of course, but that is the way of things.

Grandma Esther, taken in 2007, when she was only 91 years old …

Last Thursday, Feb. 7, 2013, we held her memorial service in her church, the Trinity Lutheran Church of  Endicott, WA. Many years ago, my grandma was the custodian at this church and I have many memories of being in that building, exploring and playing while she was dusting, buffing the floors, vacuuming, etc. I have always been intrigued with this church building, so after the dinner that the ladies of the church graciously provided after the service, I snuck out and made a few photographs of this very unique sanctuary. A relative told us that the church was built in the early 1950s. Endicott was largely settled by German immigrants, and I believe that this church building reflects that fact.

A view of the sanctuary from the balcony

Window detail

The Altar

From the back wall of the balcony

